Floor Supervisor – 1:30

Home Forums WTMO-Track Feedback Floor Supervisor – 1:30

last updated by AFL 6 months ago
5 voices
8 replies
  • Author
      Floor Supervisor
      Participant

Hey all! I’m Joel aka Floor Supervisor. I’m brand new to We Talk Music and I’m so excited to be a part of a new community of producers!

I was born and raised in Chicago which highly influences my flavors in acid house and early 80s sound (even though I am still trying to fit in that wet, distorted sound). But yeah, I’m still trying to find my own voice in this music world. And I would love help with mixing tips, arrangement and musicality, and general how to make a club bang!

Hope this track peaks some critique and advice!

Hushed Tones
      Participant

This is Joel. He’s a homie I met recently. Has a nice underground style, all Chicago/Detroit flavor. I gave him some feedback, let’s see what you guys think of his new track.

P.S. His workflow is hardware. Tell us what pieces you work with JOEEEEEL

AFL

Great to have you here man! I’ll take a listen to this asap, I’m sure you’ll get more ears on it soon too.

I’d be interested to hear what hardware you’re rocking with too?

Floor Supervisor
        Participant

I’m working with the TD-3 and the microkorg! As well as drum samples from old analog gear.

PR23
      Participant

Hi Joel, welcome to the group! ok, on to the track…

First feeling was the kick lacked body.

0.15 the acid line is cool but when the sub layer comes in here it doesn’t feel well defined..maybe separate the sub from the main/mid layer and process it differently.

0.31 the new bell like synth comes in loud, maybe fade it in more.

1.02 I like the hats here

the ‘bells’ sound could use some modulation/filtering to keep it interesting.

1.26 good that you open up the stereo field…it’s all a bit centered up to now.

3.33 like the dub chords, though maybe you can bring in this element earlier?

OK, it’s a good start, I like your sound as I’m a sucker for acid…